PAGE 9056 1-10-2024

Okemos Board of Education Okemos, Michigan 48864 SPECIAL MEETING JANUARY 10, 2024

The special meeting of the Okemos Board of Education was called to order by President

Call To Order

Gebara at 6:00 p.m.

Members Present: Tom Buffett, Katie Cavanaugh, Shulawn Doxie, Mary Gebara,

Melanie Lynn, Andrew Phelps and Jayme Taylor

Administrators: Superintendent John Hood; Assistant Superintendent Stacy Bailey;

Finance Director Elizabeth Lentz; HR Director Mario Martinez; DEI

Director Lara Slee

The board engaged in a work session with the community for the purpose of discussing the proposed Hiawatha car line and bus loop redesign. Superintendent Hood described the work session format and agenda including meeting norms, breakout sessions, board summary, public comment, and next steps. Superintendent Hood presented the following information to guide the discussion: existing conditions, redesign goals, design iterations, jurisdiction and responsibility of OPS and ICRD, and other potential solutions.

Community Work Session Regarding Hiawatha Carling Redesign

Community members were grouped into breakout listening sessions. Each group had a board member and a representative from one of the following: Meridian Township, Ingham County Road Department, TowerPinkster, The Christman Company or Veridus, as well as an OPS administrator. Members were given the opportunity to ask questions, express concerns, and provide additional feedback for consideration.

Questions, themes and discussion heard during the breakout sessions were summarized and shared with the board. The board agreed that additional time, and evaluation was needed. The board agreed to cancel the January 16th meeting that was scheduled to vote on the Hiawatha project.

The following individuals addressed the board concerning the proposed Hiawatha carline design: Dana Bennett; Marlene Stover' Jenna Shiver; Pete Kumar; Richard York; Jian Ren; Hanne Hoffmann; Howard Chang; Dorothy Diefenbach; Jwala Prasad; Stacy Wolfe; Valerie Levitt; Ron Tamborini; Tom Lee; Lauren Swanson-Aprill; Susan Metcalf; Jan Casey; Lynne Page; and Amanda Dakroub.

Public Comment

President Gebara adjourned the special meeting at 9:45 p.m.

Adjourn

Andy Phelps, Secretary